2018 Zebulon Winners With Past (far left) and Current (far right) Coordinators

The Zebulon

Pikes Peak Writers Fiction Writing Contest

The Zebulon is on hiatus for 2019. We decided now was the right time to step back and streamline the contest to best serve the fiction writing community. Expect a new and improved version to return for 2020.

Some of the things you can expect:

  • We’re streamlining the contest format for simplifying submissions and judging. We are doing away with the Query Round and condensing into a single round of synopsis and pages
  • We’re moving to a pure monetary award system with larger cash prizes to encourage more geographic diversity among our writers
  • We’re revamping the judging to encourage a more geographically diverse judging panel and to provide more consistent feedback
  • We’re adding a Short Story category. It’s genre agnostic and with stories up to 5K in length

Stay tuned as we ramp up to the contest open on September 1st, 2019.

Thank you to all who have entered contests of years past.

View a list of the Zebulon winners here!

Questions? If you can’t find your answer in the FAQ or complete contest rules, email your question to